Adoptive Parent Education Center – Log in

Meet Peter & Lia

  • Peter
  • Occupation:
    Computer Software Engineer
  • Education:
    BS in Computer Science and Mathematics (double major); MS in Engineering in Computer and Information Science.
  • Religion:
    Christian (Lutheran)
  • Hobbies:
    Anything computer related, hanging out with family, playing with my kids
  • Lia
  • Occupation:
    Wife and homeschooling mom; former music director at various schools and churches
  • Education:
    Undergraduate and Graduate degrees in music and in education; Ph.D. in Liturgical Studies
  • Religion:
    Passionate follower of Christ
  • Hobbies:
    Making music, reading, cooking, time with family

About Peter & Lia

We have been married for seven adventurous years. Early in 2008, we met at church and began dating that summer. One year to the day after our first date, we were married in a beautiful church wedding complete with medieval music, a Renaissance flute, church bells, and an Italian wedding band. Since then, our lives have been a whirlwind, and five children and two dogs later, we are excited about what the future holds.

 

 

 

 

I come from a large family and am the third of nine children. Today, I have a graduate degree in Computer Information Systems, and I work for a major defense contractor as a Computer Software Engineer. Occasionally, I travel for work, but we recently moved to a schedule that allows me to stay home with my family every other Friday. I enjoy spending time with my wife, children, and extended family, and in my spare time, I like to increase my knowledge of technology.

 

I am a stay-at-home wife and mom who loves to read, blog (when I have time), engage in a good debate, cook, and make music. Before having children I worked in various schools and churches starting and building music programs. My primary instrument is the piano, but I also play organ, handbells, and I dabble with a few others. I have undergraduate and graduate degrees in music and education, and I recently acquired my Ph.D. in Liturgical Studies. Now I direct a local homeschooling community.

 

We have five children who all joined our family through adoption. Our youngest (Annamarie-3) was born in December 2012 and came to us as a newborn. We work to maintain open contact with her first mamma. Our four older children (Jessica-10, Ashley-8, Tasha-6, and Christopher-5) all joined our family in February 2015. We keep an open relationship with their last foster family, and we visit when we can. All of our children are excited about having a new baby in the family, despite the fact that no one has yet volunteered to help change diapers.

 

We first met at the church where Peter had attended for a number of years. Lia was in the midst of her doctoral exams and was looking for a place to worship. For several months, we attended different services until Lia joined the choir where Peter also sang. Soon we began courting, and we were married on July 11, 2009. From the beginning, our life together has been an exciting journey. Within the first year, we bought a house and a dog. By the end of our third year of marriage, we had two dogs and Lia completed her Ph.D. In the next four years, we would grow our family by five children. It has been a whirlwind, for sure, but we wouldn’t have it any other way. We are two imperfect people, who, each day, choose to love anew.

 

As a homeschooling family, we have the flexibility to enjoy each other and to pursue the things that interest us. Peter’s job is family friendly, and he generally is able to be home every other Friday. While he does travel occasionally, he makes the most of his time at home. Lia and the children belong to a homeschool community that meets weekly. The children are also involved in horseback riding and gymnastics. During the school year, Lia gives them piano lessons, and during the summer, we love to go to the pool, ride bikes, and play outside. We also enjoy fieldtrips to the aquarium, the zoo, and various museums. Recently, we had our first family camping trip, and we think it just may be something we’d like to do again. Our dogs also participate in an agility class during the warmer months.

 

Extended family is important to us and to our children. Peter’s family lives about 600+ miles away, but we do try to visit twice a year. There are fifteen cousins between his siblings, and we want our children to grow up having relationships with their family. Lia’s parents live just half a mile from our home. Her sister lives about 30 miles away. We have Sunday dinner at her parents’ home, and her sister frequently comes, too.

 

We live in a small township, within several hours’ drive of three major cities, one of whose skylines is visible from our town. Our home is approximately 2400 square feet, and it is located across the street from a paved walking path where neighbors walk dogs, ride bikes, and exercise. Our backyard has a swingset for our children and a patio for barbecuing. The surrounding area is rich with diversity of culture, education, food, and entertainment. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Are You
Pregnant?

If you’re facing an unplanned pregnancy and not sure what to do, we can help. More »

Looking
To Adopt?

Considering adopting a baby? Learn how Adoption by Choice in Erie, PA can help. More »

Choose A
Family

Look through information lovingly prepared by pre-approved couples. More »